viernes, 23 de abril de 2010

Buddhist Beliefs


Four Noble Truths
1. Life means suffering.
2. The origin of suffering is attachment.
3. The cessation of suffering is attainable.
4. The path to the cessation of suffering.
The Noble Eightfold Path

1. Right View Wisdom
2. Right Intention
3. Right Speech Ethical Conduct
4. Right Action
5. Right Livelihood
6. Right Effort Mental Development
7. Right Mindfulness
8. Right Concentration

Claims to end suffering.
Guideline for being ethical and freeing oneself from attachment.

Not a step by step guide, but 8 parts of life that when all used, can remove oneself from attachment to worldly things.

1. Right View
See things as they are.

2. Right Intention
Resist wordly desires
Resist feelings of anger or hate
Resist feeling cruelty and violence....develop compassion

3. Right Speech
"Words can break or save lives, make enemies or friends, start war or create peace."
Don't tell lies or be deceitful
Don't use words to hurt others
Don't speak unless it has a purpose

4. Right Action
Do things that are right. Don't hurt other beings, don't take what is not given, don't do things that are wrong sexually.

5. Right Livelihood
Earn your living in a way that is right. no weapons, slavery, meat production or butchering, or drug dealing. also don't do any job that would make you speak or act in a wrong way.

6. Right Effort

You must want to give up the endeavors that are wrong, prevent "unwholesome states" to arise, to undertake endeavors that are wholesome, and keep them and improve upon them.

7. Right Mindfulness -- one I knew I had heard of but couldn't remember
"Clear perception" -- without letting your impressions carry you away. be aware of how you are thinking about things, how you feel about them.

8. Right Concentration
Direction your concentration towards one, worthwhile thing.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario